Skip to content

Do You Have What it Takes to Be A Great Family Historian? A Tribute to Grandma

October 31, 2014

Whenever I sit down to write a new post, my mind keep coming back to my paternal Grandma because she was the self-designated family historian in her family. In fact, without Grandma’s family histories I would have not many interesting details about her husband, parents, and grandparents beyond a few dates and places.

Grandma recorded the basic details of her family’s lives but she also wrote about how those people were important to her in her life. She shared her memories of visiting grandparents as a child. She shared the tragedy and heartache of losing her father at age fourteen, and the hard life of learning to run the farm with her sisters, while her mother withdrew into long-term grief. To my knowledge, none of her sisters, there were eight, wrote such a detailed history of their parents and grandparents and shared that information generally.

So back to my question: Do you have what it takes to be a great family historian? I suggest that great family historians have 3 things in common:

  • Show an interest in family histories
  • See the value of family histories
  • Share their family histories

Stay tuned as I discuss the above 3 topics in future blog posts and I will share with you how Grandma taught me to be a great family historian.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

