Skip to content

Share the Work, Enjoy Your Family History

January 17, 2014

Last summer my cousin volunteered to type some of my grandpa’s handwritten journals. Each week he would type a week of entries from my grandpa’s journals that correlated to the current week. He would then email those entries to interested family members. At first only a few people seemed interested but as word spread, his email list grew.

I enjoy reading the snippets from my grandpa’s journals and learning about what he did this week so many years ago. My cousin’s emails were quick to read, but I wanted to keep more permanent copies of the emails for my family history records.

Since my cousin was doing the work of transcribing the handwritten journals and disseminating the information, I volunteered to take the typed journal entries and create an eBook for mobile devices. I also created a PDF for family who want to print out the journal.

Each week after I received my cousin’s email of Grandpa’s journals, I added to my eBook and PDF. Compiling these documents in short segments kept the project from becoming overwhelming. And now I have family history eBooks to share, thanks to my cousin’s great idea.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

